Human – Christina Perri

The song “Human” by Christina Perri has a great message. We all go through life trying to get things done, trying to meet everyone else’s expectations of who we should be, of what we should do, of what choices we should make, and trying to make others happy, satisfying their needs, and at the same time sacrificing our own wellness, our own peace.

Yes, it is important to consider others, be compassionate, give love, and be kind. I strongly believe in those traits. However, at the same time, we have to balance what is realistic to expect of ourselves to accomplish in any given day.

Balance is what needs to be achieved. Balance is a key to healthy relationships, healthy boundaries, healthy internal peace, and a healthy world.

Love yourself and love others. Don’t expect that you can do it all. Like the message in this video, even if we tried to do it all, maybe we could, but it wouldn’t be good for us. We are still human. We bleed, we hurt, we have pain, we cry, and we get tired. Allow yourself the freedom of letting go of the expectation to be superman or superwoman or supermom or super-everything, whatever it is that is putting all the pressure on you to have to accomplish everything and to get everything done all at once.

Here are the lyrics to Christina Perri’s song, “Human”. Consider the words while you think about how you can have better balance in your life and how you can allow yourself to be human.

Comment below to let me know what this song makes you think of.

Human” Lyrics (from azlyrics.com)

I can hold my breath; I can bite my tongue
I can stay awake for days; If that’s what you want
Be your number one

I can fake a smile; I can force a laugh
I can dance and play the part; If that’s what you ask
Give you all I am

I can do it; I can do it; I can do it

But I’m only human; And I bleed when I fall down
I’m only human; And I crash and I break down
Your words in my head, knives in my heart; You build me up and then I fall apart
‘Cause I’m only human

I can turn it on; Be a good machine
I can hold the weight of worlds; If that’s what you need
Be your everything

I can do it; I can do it; I’ll get through it

But I’m only human; And I bleed when I fall down
I’m only human; And I crash and I break down
Your words in my head, knives in my heart; You build me up and then I fall apart
‘Cause I’m only human

I’m only human; I’m only human; Just a little human

I can take so much; ‘Til I’ve had enough

‘Cause I’m only human; And I bleed when I fall down
I’m only human; And I crash and I break down
Your words in my head, knives in my heart; You build me up and then I fall apart
‘Cause I’m only human

Thanks for reading.
Have Hope;
Heather

About Heather Gilmore, MSW, LLMSW, BCBA

Heather Gilmore, MSW, LLMSW, BCBA. Heather has obtained a master's degree in clinical social work and a bachelor's degree in psychology with a youth services minor. Heather is also a Board Certified Behavior Analysts. Additionally, Heather is a dedicated and passionate freelance writer. Heather takes interest in topics related to parenting, children, families, personal development, health and wellness, mental health, happiness, and life coaching.
Video | This entry was posted in Personal Wellbeing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

