It’s been awhile…..Time Management

Image

Image: Time Is Ticking by Petr Kratochvil

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted. I have so many things on my plate right now. However, I am still passionate about expressing my thoughts and encouragements related to supporting families as I like to do with this blog. I have been pursuing my writing career (and other things), which has brought up new feelings for me. There is so much that I want to do, but it seems like there is so little time. The new feelings that I am experiencing are related to trying to continually explore who I am and what I ultimately want to do in life. I feel compelled to work as a mental health therapist as well as pursue a good-sized freelance writing career.

I won’t go on and on about me, but my point in writing this to you is to express how I have reminded myself of the importance of time management. Time management is so important in these busy days as most people are well aware. However, we need to give ourselves a break and know that we can only do what we can do in the 24 hours of the day. Plus, that has to include sleep time. I am excited to be writing this blog, but I know that I do have to sleep at some point tonight. Although there are many things that need to get done or that I just want to get done, my internal voice is reminding me that I should moderate myself. By this, I mean

  • I should keep my sleep schedule fairly on track,
  • keep my expectations of what I can do in a day reasonable,
  • and manage my time so that I balance my time wisely rather than spending so much time on one or two tasks that I let go of other things that really need attention (like the dishes that haven’t gotten done today ;o) ).

I wish you the best in your time management efforts. Feel free to leave a comment about how you struggle or what you do well with regarding time management.

Thanks for reading.

Have Hope;

Heather

About Heather Gilmore, MSW, LLMSW, BCBA

Heather Gilmore, MSW, LLMSW, BCBA. Heather has obtained a master's degree in clinical social work and a bachelor's degree in psychology with a youth services minor. Heather is also a Board Certified Behavior Analysts. Additionally, Heather is a dedicated and passionate freelance writer. Heather takes interest in topics related to parenting, children, families, personal development, health and wellness, mental health, happiness, and life coaching.
This entry was posted in Personal Wellbeing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s been awhile…..Time Management

  1. Thanks for the comment. And yes, I totally agree. Life is simpler, more peaceful, and you get more done when you focus on one small task at a time.

    Like

  2. Kelly Jenkins says:

    I strongly believe the key to being productive is focusing/managing your time. To be productive, it is so important to focus on one small task at a time; identify one small task, focus your mind on that task until it is fully complete. (It is okay to start by making yourself a list, if “to do lists” are your kind-of thing.)…The key is to be sure that your brain is focused on completing a SMALL task. (i.e. take care of five pieces of paper, clean off desk, do one load of dishes, make a phone call, complete a document for your work, etc.)

    Like

Leave a Comment

